Road to certification part 2: 8th week at the Spark program at Encora

Brandon Herrera
2 min readOct 7, 2024

--

This week has been full of knowledge, practice, and learning. During this week I’ve been studying about Google Cloud Platform so I can be prepared to get the Associate Cloud Engineer Certification.

Photo by Arthur Osipyan on Unsplash

During this week I studied Networking, Compute Engine, and more about the infrastructure in Google Cloud.

Also, this week I imparted my first lightning talk, which is a short talk about a topic in the certification. I chose the Google Cloud Network because it is the basis of how the modern internet works, that’s why I started the talk with the question “How does a page across the world charge so fast? But mine doesn’t”. This is something that most people don’t question themselves but people in technology should know because this is about how the internet works and how it has improved to become what it is today.

If we look back the internet was so slow, latency was so high, and response times were different from every country. With the arrival of the cloud, this has improved a lot and now we can access almost the entire internet in just seconds.

This is something that not only Google does but it's interesting to know how it has been doing it and how the infrastructure that has been built to improve the internet.

So far, it was a challenge to choose a topic because there are so many things happening in the Cloud but I think this is something useful for people in technology that can convince them to enter into the cloud world.

The talk was not as good as I intended but it was great and I got some feedback that I will use to improve in the next talks so that this is not just an assignment, but useful for the people who listen to it and can learn something. As I have said in my past blogs, one of the best ways to learn is to share with others so I think this way I reinforce what I have learned and share it with others so they can also learn and be interested in this kind of topics.

Finally, I think I have learned more about Cloud, reinforced topics that I had forgotten, and understood some things that I can improve when giving talks. I am sure that this will help me to improve not only in the next talks but in any area where I have to explain complex concepts or other topics to other people.

--

--

Brandon Herrera

Notion Campus Leader @ ESCOM | Mobile developer | GDG & GDSC Organizer